TikTok Creativity Beta

Gavster
Currently Driving: ya mum

TikTok Creativity Beta

Post by Gavster »

Very specific moan here because I'm bloody pissed off. Just need to vent this.

As some of you are aware I've been making videos on TikTok for a few years. Last year in September TikTok launched the Creativity Beta program which pays creators for their content. At the moment it's the best-paying short-form video monetisation scheme, far better than any other platform.

When I first downloaded TikTok back in 2019, I was in Ecuador. What I didn't know at the time is that TikTok creates some kind of geotag on your account linked to where you first used the app. I'd occasionally come across peculiarities with my account, however everything still worked fine.

Until they launched the creativity beta. They've clearly locked down onto the geotag and blocked me from all of the monetisation features because of "my region". TikTok won't fix it either, they are aware of the issue and I'm not the only one who's locked out, but the the app can't be updated to change the location of a user, and they're concerned about abuse of the system if they build a new feature to allow people to relocate themselves.

As a result I've already missed out on anywhere between £5-10k in payments in the 4 months the scheme has been running. I'd been given hope by someone at TikTok UK office in December, however they came back yesterday to confirm it's a hard no. Gutted to say the least. I get very little income directly from my content/brand deals (maybe ~£3k last year), almost all of my income comes from other consultancy work. I make the 200-300 short videos a year virtually for free.

But at the same time, being pragmatic about it, TikTok could very easily whip this scheme away or cut the payments in half like YouTube have in the past, it never would be a reliable source of income on it's own. If anything it's a reminder to keep pushing my work outwards in multiple directions and diversifying.