Cash machine blunders

Broccers

Cash machine blunders

Post by Broccers »

Had one yesterday - card in, select 50 quid, card out, walk off ......... without the cash.

Now what happened next was SHOCKING. The guy behind RAN down the carpark and GAVE ME MY 50 quid, saying was I trying to make him rich?

Another guy in the carpark couldnt believe it either. To be fair neither could I. So the UK isnt all bad.

Last time I did something as stoopid was in Bali 2002 - left card in the machine after taking the cash and didn't realise until at Heathrow airport a few days later - Bali local who was behind took as much as the machine allowed so probably had a nice year off :lol:

What's your worst?

(By the way I was dealing with something on my phone and wasn't thinking, not shitfaced which is when mishaps usually occur) :lol:
mik

Re: Cash machine blunders

Post by mik »

Only ever done that once. Took £10 out of a machine and walked off without the cash. Problem was I was a student and it was my last £10. Unfortunately there was no Mr Honest to chase me down. 🙁

A lesson that has stayed with me for a LONG time.
dinny_g

Post by dinny_g »

Never left card or cash in a machine but in a past life working in Retail Banking, I was responsible for loading them up with cash. When the Irish Republic changed over to a new £20 note, it transpired it was the same size and weight as the then UK £10 note.

So many "ex UK" hoppers were acquired and all needed some electronics updating before being used. One of mine wasn't updated... :)

The Cash point was located in a Petrol Station across the Liffey from the Branch and as you can imagine, every £10 you took out gave you £20. There was apparently a queue of people in the station all day, each making 30 x £10 withdrawals and getting £600 out.

The customer list was known by midday on the Monday but it took months to get it all back.
JLv3.0 wrote: Thu Jun 21, 2018 4:26 pm I say this rarely Dave, but listen to Dinny because he's right.