Smaller lightweight wheels vs larger heavier wheels

NGRhodes

Smaller lightweight wheels vs larger heavier wheels

Post by NGRhodes »

Spotted a set of forged Audi alloys, a mere 16in (215/55/16 tyres), with tyres they will be approx 25% lighter than 17in wheels (235/45/17 tyres) which I am also looking at.
I am pondering what the pros and cons of each would be on real world roads, I think it boils down to lighter un-sprung mass vs lower profile (with a slight grip advantage from wider wheel), would differences be marginal or significant, one of the few things in terms of car tuning I have no experience of (mainly because I favour standard looks and styling).
mik

Re: Smaller lightweight wheels vs larger heavier wheels

Post by mik »

Would they fit over your breaks? And taller sidewall = more “sproing” in all responses, which might offset any advantages offered by reduced unsprung weight?

Very difficult one to assess without actually trying....
NGRhodes

Post by NGRhodes »

mik wrote: Wed Feb 10, 2021 11:42 am Would they fit over your breaks? And taller sidewall = more “sproing” in all responses, which might offset any advantages offered by reduced unsprung weight?

Yes they will fit - currently have 16 in wheels on over my 320mm discs.
I tried searching on google, but it does not come up with anything useful on this specific subject (I can find lighter vs heavier and lower vs higher profile, but nothing that intersects).
Jimexpl

Post by Jimexpl »

NGRhodes wrote: Wed Feb 10, 2021 11:58 am
mik wrote: Wed Feb 10, 2021 11:42 am Would they fit over your breaks? And taller sidewall = more “sproing” in all responses, which might offset any advantages offered by reduced unsprung weight?

I tried searching on google, but it does not come up with anything useful on this specific subject (I can find lighter vs heavier and lower vs higher profile, but nothing that intersects).