Coilovers

McSwede

Coilovers

Post by McSwede »

As part of getting the MX5 on the road again I fancy swapping the standard shocks/springs for some cheapish coilovers to drop the ride height a little and improve the drive. I have no experience of these so thought I'd ask for your thoughts. Been looking at the kits below. Fixed ride height is appealing to me because there is less for me to cock up or am I missing a trick as they're easy to set up?? What about fixed or adjustable damping?? And what about thoughts on twin tube versus mono tube dampers??

https://www.mx5parts.co.uk/fixed-height ... -1924.html

https://uk.tein.com/product/street_advance_basis_z.html
Matty
Currently Driving: Up! GTi, Alfa 4C

Re: Coilovers

Post by Matty »

I can't comment on the below, but some of my biggest car purchase regrets have been cheap suspension kits/coilovers. I'd rather find the extra.
integrale_evo

Post by integrale_evo »

Id always go higher adjustable, it's not really possible to mess up.

There's no voodoo, it's just the bottom spring perch on a screw thread so you can wind it up and down.

Make a guess on one, measure the threads with a tape measure, set the other side the same. Lower the car down. If it hits the floor, wind the perch up a bit. If it's still too high, wind it down a bit.
Cheers, Harry
Orange Cola

Post by Orange Cola »

Either go OEM replacements or get a proper set up and pay for someone reputable to set it up properly ;) The cheapo ones never work and are just compromised, they only really exist for folk who want show and no go. I’m guessing you would want a road set up rather than a track one? There will be a short list of go to set ups from the MX5 folk.
Mustang GT 5.0 V8 -- Jaguar F-Pace
Orange Cola

Post by Orange Cola »

integrale_evo wrote: Sat Jan 04, 2020 10:17 pm Id always go higher adjustable, it's not really possible to mess up.

There's no voodoo, it's just the bottom spring perch on a screw thread so you can wind it up and down.