Complex computing

V8Granite

Complex computing

Post by V8Granite »

I’ve ordered one of these....

UCreate Raspberry Pi 3 Model B+ Desktop Starter Kit

I just want the internet in the garage and I’m an absolute Luddite when it comes to computers so think I should try and learn something. I expect either failing 8nstantly or something similar to the end scene in Superman 3 8-)

Has anyone done anything with this stuff ?

Dave!
ste

Re: Complex computing

Post by ste »

My eldest does quite a bit with them, has since I bought him a Kano when he was 9-ish. He's a massive geek though.
DaveE

Post by DaveE »

Different to your application, but I've been using a Pi for a few years now as a receiver for my Squeezebox music player/server/thing.

Great little bits of kit
Mito Man

Post by Mito Man »

Yep I did similar and then Sonos and devices which make your tv smart came out and I could no longer be bothered
How about not having a sig at all?
DeskJockey

Post by DeskJockey »

I've got one running as the media center. Probably should do something more with it, but it just works.
---
Driving a Galaxy far far away
DaveE

Post by DaveE »

Mito Man wrote: Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:27 pm Yep I did similar and then Sonos and devices which make your tv smart came out and I could no longer be bothered
I was amazed at how simple it was to do actually.

Copy some files onto an SD card, boot up, then select the required sound card via a web UI.

But it's not a product like Sonos that you just plug and play.

Until Sonos lift their track limit though, it's not an option for me (currently 127k tracks in the library)
Mito Man

Post by Mito Man »

I think I’m going to go for an intel NUC for my next media centre as they can handle 4k. Thought about a Mac Mini but the Apple pricing on those is a joke - a £400 NUC will outperform them :roll:
Jobbo
Currently Driving: S6 Avant, Jimny, Macan, Mini

Post by Jobbo »

Even the new Mac Mini won’t cope properly with 4K apparently. No graphics card.