End of free GSuite

DeskJockey

End of free GSuite

Post by DeskJockey »

Acccording to this. Basically start paying for the service or lose it.

I've been hosting my domain on there since 2013, so probably can't complain about having 9 years of free mail hosting. I've bought extra storage for photos, but apart from that, don't use any other features. There are things I would have liked to use (like the family safety options) but they don't work with GSuite, at least not the free tier.

So, I think it is time to consider options. Moving to Apple is not one of them.

Option 1: Pay Google for the service. Have eight users to take across. Easiest as there is nothing to change or migrate. Just cost and broken features.
Cost is £4.14 (on a deal, normally £4.60) per user per month (+£7.99/month for storage for one account).

Option 2: Host email somewhere else, move Google photos from current account to a free Gmail account (currently share an account with my wife for photos).
Cost unknown + the £7.99/month for 1TB of photo storage.

Option 3: Host email somewhere else, move everything to M365 Family which while only giving six Office licenses, will cover our needs. Photo account won't need Office, just storage, my dad and sister already have M365 access through other means.
£80/year for M365 + mail hosting.

Option 4: Host email somewhere else, replace Synology with DSM7 capable NAS to get access to the recently launched Synology Photos tools. Will also be limited by broadband speed.
Likely to cost about £5-600 for the NAS alone + mail hosting on top.

All options bar 1 will additionally require a significant investment in time and perhaps also temporary cost for migration tools (Multcloud being one option to easily move 40k+ photos).

So, hive mind (@Beany, @tim especially), what wise counsel do you give?
---
Driving a Galaxy far far away
Sundayjumper
Currently Driving: Peugeot 406

Re: End of free GSuite

Post by Sundayjumper »